Hide
Раскрыть

Elen Yusupova1, Anastasia Kapuza1, Elena Kardanova1
  • 1 National Research University Higher School of Economics, 20 Myasnitskaya Str., Moscow, 101000, Russian Federation

Is the Academic Performance of Schoolchildren Linked to the Expectations of Their Teachers? 
Results of an Experimental Study

2022. No. 1. P. 189–217 [issue contents]
Elen M. Yusupova, research assistant, Center for Psychometrics and Educational Measurements, Institute of Education, National Research University Higher School of Economics. E-mail: eabdurakhmanova@hse.ru (сorresponding author) 

Anastasia V. Kapuza, research fellow, International Laboratory for Evaluation of Practices and Innovations in Education, Institute of Education, National Research University Higher School of Economics. E-mail: akapuza@hse.ru 

Elena Yu. Kardanova, Candidate of Science in Physics and Mathematics, associate professor, director, Center for Psychometrics and Educational Measurement, Institute of Education, National Research University Higher School of Economics. E-mail: ekardanova@hse.ru 

Address: 16 Potapovsky Lane, bldg. 10, 101000 Moscow, Russian Federation. 

Teachers’ expectations may affect the academic performance of their pupils, leading to the effect of “self-fulfilling prophecies”. Teachers form their expectations about the academic performance of their pupils based on the information they possess about the latter. The present study tested a hypothesis about a correlation between the teacher’s disposal of information about the pupil’s ranking on an initial diagnostic test at the beginning of the first grade and the pupil’s academic performance at the end of the first grade. It also tested the hypothesis that the teacher’s disposal of information about the pupil’s ranking can affect his or her expectations about the level of the pupil’s cognitive skills. In this large-scale cluster randomized controlled experimental study, the participants included 4,460 first-grade students from 188 schools in a Russian region. We divided the schools into the experimental and control groups randomly. The teachers in the control group received information about the basic skills of their pupils. In contrast, experimental group teachers additionally received information about their pupils’ ranking based on a combination of indicators of their cognitive (basic reading and math) and non-cognitive (personal and socio-emotional) skills. The study did not confirm the hypotheses.
Citation: Yusupova E.M., Kapuza A.V., Kardanova E.Yu. (2022) Svyazany li akademicheskie dostizheniya uchashchikhsya s ozhidaniyami ikh uchiteley. Rezul’taty eksperimental’nogo issledovaniya [Is the Academic Performance of Schoolchildren Linked to the Expectations of Their Teachers? Results of an Experimental Study]. Voprosy obrazovaniya / Educational Studies Moscow, no1, pp. 189–217. https://doi.org/10.17323/1814-9545-2022-1-189-217
BiBTeX
RIS

Скрыть
Раскрыть

Юсупова Э. М.1, Капуза А. В.1, Карданова Е. Ю.1
  • 1 НИУ ВШЭ, 101000, Россия, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д.20

Связаны ли академические достижения учащихся с ожиданиями их учителей. 
Результаты экспериментального исследования

2022. № 1. С. 189–217 [содержание номера]
Юсупова Элен Магомедовна — стажер-исследователь Центра психометрики и измерений в образовании Института образования Национального исследовательского университета «Высшая школа экономики». E-mail: eabdurakhmanova@hse.ru (контактное лицо для переписки) 

Капуза Анастасия Васильевна — научный сотрудник Международной лаборатории оценки практик и инноваций в образовании Института образования Национального исследовательского университета «Высшая школа экономики». E-mail: akapuza@hse.ru 

Карданова Елена Юрьевна — кандидат физико-математических наук, доцент, ординарный профессор НИУ ВШЭ, директор Центра психометрики и измерений в образовании Института образования Национального исследовательского университета «Высшая школа экономики». E-mail: ekardanova@ hse.ru 

Адрес: 101000, Москва, Потаповский пер., 16, стр. 10. 

Ожидания учителя могут отражаться на академических достижениях учеников, и возникает эффект «самоисполняющихся пророчеств». Учителя формируют свои ожидания об академической успеваемости учащихся, основываясь на имеющейся у них информации о школьниках. Проведено исследование с целью проверки гипотезы о существовании связи наличия у учителя информации о принадлежности ученика к той или иной из групп, выделенных по результатам стартовой диагностики в начале 1-го класса, с академическими достижениями этого школьника по истечении первого учебного года. Дополнительно проверялась гипотеза о том, что наличие у учителя информации о группе, к которой относится ученик, может отразиться на его ожиданиях относительно уровня когнитивных навыков ученика. В крупномасштабном кластерном рандомизированном контролируемом экспериментальном исследовании участвовали 4460 первоклассников из 188 школ одного из регионов РФ. Школы распределены на экспериментальную и контрольную группы случайным образом. Учителя контрольной группы получали сведения о базовых навыках своих учеников, а учителя экспериментальной группы — еще и информацию о принадлежности учеников к той или иной группе из выделенных на основании сочетания показателей сформированности когнитивных (базовых навыков по чтению и математике) и некогнитивных (личностных и социально-эмоциональных) навыков. В результате проведенного исследования гипотезы не получили подтверждения.
Библиографическое описание: Юсупова Э.М., Капуза А.В., Карданова Е.Ю. (2022) Связаны ли академические достижения учащихся с ожиданиями их учителей. Результаты экспериментального исследования // Вопросы образования/Educational Studies Moscow. № 1. С. 189–217. https://doi.org/10.17323/1814-9545-2022-1-189-217
BiBTeX
RIS

Новости

21 апреля 2022

XIII Конференция исследователей высшего образования (ИВО) 2022: call for papers


31 марта 2022

Секции на тему образования в программе XXIII Ясинской международной научной конференции


30 марта 2022

XXIII Ясинская (Апрельская) конференция по проблемам развития экономики и общества