Hide
Раскрыть

Egor Sagitov1, Evgeniia Shmeleva1
  • 1 National Research University Higher School of Economics, 20 Myasnitskaya Str., Moscow, 101000, Russian Federation

How Are Pedagogical Practices Associated with Cheating among Students of Russian Universities

2022. No. 1. P. 138–159 [issue contents]
Egor B. Sagitov, master’s student, Institute of Education, National Research University Higher School of Economics. E-mail: ebsagitov@edu.hse.ru 

Evgeniia D. Shmeleva, Research Fellow, Сenter for Sociology of Higher Education, Institute of Education, National Research University Higher School of Economics. E-mail: eshmeleva@hse.ru (corresponding author) 

Address: Bld. 10, 16 Potapovsky Ln, 101000 Moscow, Russian Federation. 

Student academic dishonesty is one of the most serious problems of higher education in Russia and all over the world. This problem became especially severe and widespread during a mass forced transfer to distant education followed by the Covid-19 pandemic. In this regard, it is highly demanded to find affordable measures to combat academic dishonesty, some of which can be implemented at the level of the organization of the learning process. The purpose of this study was to assess and analyze the relationship between the prevalence of passive and active pedagogical practices and academic cheating among students. Based on pieces of evidence, we hypothesized that students are more likely to cheat in conditions where their classes are organized mostly around passive educational practices such as writing down or retelling the course material. The empirical basis of this study is data gathered within the project “Monitoring of education markets and organizations” in spring 2020. Students of full-time bachelor and specialist programs of Russian higher educational institutions were surveyed. The sample includes 17 316 students from 291 Russian universities. Data analysis was carried out using a series of binary multilevel logistic regressions with the sequential addition of groups of individual and group level variables. This study was the first to show the relationship between different pedagogical practices and the risk of student cheating. The main result of this study can be considered a confirmed positive relationship between the prevalence of rewriting and retelling of the course materials during seminars (passive pedagogical practices) and student cheating. The second hypothesis about the relationship between active pedagogical practices and cheating received partial confirmation. The results of this study may be used as a base for recommendations for instructors and administrators of universities to enforce student academic integrity and reduce the prevalence of cheating among them.
Citation: Sagitov E.B., Shmeleva E.D. (2022) Kak pedagogicheskie praktiki svyazany so spisyvaniem sredi studentov rossiyskikh vuzov [How Are Pedagogical Practices Associated with Cheating among Students of Russian Universities]. Voprosy obrazovaniya / Educational Studies Moscow, no1, pp. 138–159. https://doi.org/10.17323/1814- 9545-2022-1-138-159
BiBTeX
RIS

Скрыть
Раскрыть

Сагитов Е. Б.1, Шмелева Е. Д.1
  • 1 НИУ ВШЭ, 101000, Россия, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д.20

Как педагогические практики связаны со списыванием среди студентов российских вузов

2022. № 1. С. 138–159 [содержание номера]
Сагитов Егор Борисович — магистрант Института образования, Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики». E-mail: ebsagitov@edu.hse.ru 

Шмелева Евгения Дмитриевна — PhD in Education, научный сотрудник Центра социологии высшего образования, доцент Института образования, Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики». E-mail: eshmeleva@hse.ru (контактное лицо для переписки) 

Адрес: 101000, Москва, Потаповский пер., 16, стр. 10. 

Риски снижения качества образования вследствие распространения списывания как одного из видов нечестного академического поведения существенно возросли во время массового перехода университетов в онлайн-режим обучения из-за пандемии COVID-19. Возник запрос на доступные и недорогие меры борьбы со списыванием, прежде всего такие, которые могут быть реализованы на уровне организации процесса обучения. Проведено исследование с целью оценить связь распространенности пассивных и активных педагогических практик с обращением студентов к списыванию. Эмпирическую основу исследования составили данные проекта «Мониторинг экономики образования», в рамках которого весной 2020 г. были опрошены студенты очных программ обучения в российских высших учебных заведениях. Выборку составили 17 316 студентов из 291 российского вуза. Данные проанализированы с помощью серии бинарных многоуровневых логистических регрессий с последовательным добавлением групп переменных индивидуального и группового уровня. В данном исследовании впервые оценена связь использования преподавателями российских вузов тех или иных педагогических практик с риском обращения студентов к списыванию. Подтверждена положительная взаимосвязь частоты использования переписывания и пересказывания учебных материалов (пассивных педагогических практик) с обращением студентов к списыванию. Вторая гипотеза — о связи активных педагогических практик со списыванием — получила частичное подтверждение. Полученные результаты могут быть использованы в качестве основы для рекомендаций преподавательскому составу и администрациям вузов по уменьшению распространенности списывания среди студентов.
Библиографическое описание: Сагитов Е.Б., Шмелева Е.Д. (2022) Как педагогические практики связаны со списыванием среди студентов российских вузов // Вопросы образования/ Educational Studies Moscow. № 1. С. 138–159. https://doi.org/10.17323/1814-9545- 2022-1-138-159
BiBTeX
RIS

Новости

21 апреля 2022

XIII Конференция исследователей высшего образования (ИВО) 2022: call for papers


31 марта 2022

Секции на тему образования в программе XXIII Ясинской международной научной конференции


30 марта 2022

XXIII Ясинская (Апрельская) конференция по проблемам развития экономики и общества