Hide
Раскрыть

Valeriya Ershova 1, Iuliia Gerasimova 1, Anastasia Kapuza 1
  • 1 National Research University Higher School of Economics, 20 Myasnitskaya Str., Moscow, 101000, Russian Federation

Math Is Not for Girl? Investigating the Impact of e-Learning Platforms on the Development of Growth Mindsets in Elementary Classrooms

2021. No. 3. P. 91–113 [issue contents]
Valeria Ershova, Master’s Student, Institute of Education, National Research University Higher School of Economics.
E-mail: vsershova@edu.hse.ru

Iuliia Gerasimova, Research Intern, International Laboratory for Evaluation of Practices and Innovations in Education, Institute of Education, National Research University Higher School of Economics. E-mail: ygerasimova@hse.ru (corresponding author)

Anastasia Kapuza, Research Fellow, International Laboratory for Evaluation of Practices and Innovations in Education, Institute of Education, National Research University Higher School of Economics. E-mail: akapuza@hse.ru

Address: Bld. 10, 16 Potapovsky Ln, 101000 Moscow, Russian Federation.

Science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education research indicates a gender gap in how students perceive their mathematical ability. Even when there are no gender disparities in math achievement, girls tend to have lower expectations of success and lower self-reported proficiency in the subject than boys. Empirical findings show that development of growth mindset could bridge the gender gap in students’ perceptions of their mathematical ability and enhance girls’ interest in math. Formative feedback is one of the possible tools to foster the development of growth mindsets.
This study investigates the impact of an e-learning platform with automated feedback on the development of growth mindsets in elementary school children. Empirical data was collected during an experiment which involved 6,300 third grade students from 343 regional schools in Russia. Statistically significant differences were revealed between students in the control group and those who used the e-learning platform (experimental group). However, the effects of using the platform were significantly lower for girls than boys.
The results obtained in this study point to the great potential of e-learning platforms with instant feedback in fostering growth mindsets in mathematics among elementary school children. Furthermore, it appears vital to integrate tailored feedback for boys and girls to mitigate gender differences in school math education.
Citation: V. S. Ershova, I. O. Gerasimova, A. V. Kapuza (2021) Matematika ne dlya devochek? Issledovanie vliyaniya obrazovatel'nyh platform na razvitiye myshleniya rosta mladshih shkolnikov [Math Is Not for Girl? Investigating the Impact of e-Learning Platforms on the Development of Growth Mindsets in Elementary Classrooms]. Voprosy obrazovaniya / Educational Studies Moscow, no3, pp. 91–113. https://doi.org/10.17323/1814-9545-2021-3-91-113
BiBTeX
RIS

Скрыть
Раскрыть

Ершова В. С. 1, Герасимова Ю. О. 1, Капуза А. В. 1
  • 1 НИУ ВШЭ, 101000, Россия, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д.20

Математика не для девочек? Исследование влияния образовательных платформ на развитие мышления роста младших школьников

2021. № 3. С. 91–113 [содержание номера]
Ершова Валерия Сергеевна — магистрант Института образования, Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики». E-mail: vsershova@edu.hse.ru

Герасимова Юлия Олеговна — стажер-исследователь Международной лаборатории оценки практик и инноваций в образовании Института образования, Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики». E-mail: ygerasimova@hse.ru (контактное лицо для переписки)

Капуза Анастасия Васильевна — научный сотрудник Международной лаборатории оценки практик и инноваций в образовании Института образования, Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики». E-mail: akapuza@hse.ru

Адрес: 101000, Москва, Потаповский пер., 16, стр. 10.

Результаты исследований в области STEM-дисциплин свидетельствуют о наличии гендерных различий в восприятии учащимися своих способностей к математике. Даже при равной с мальчиками успеваемости девочки высказывают более скромные ожидания в отношении освоения предмета и ниже оценивают свою компетентность. Получены данные, подтверждающие, что нивелировать гендерный разрыв в оценке способностей к математике и повысить интерес девочек к предмету может развитие мышления роста. Одним из инструментов развития мышления роста является формирующая обратная связь.
Проведено исследование с целью изучить влияние цифровой платформы с автоматической обратной связью на развитие мышления роста у учащихся начальной школы. В эксперименте приняли участие 6300 учащихся 3‑х классов из 343 региональных российских школ. Выявлены значимые различия между учащимися экспериментальной группы, которые использовали цифровую платформу в обучении, и учащимися контрольной группы. Однако эффект от использования платформы для девочек оказался слабее, чем для мальчиков.
Результаты исследования подтверждают потенциал использования цифровых платформ с мгновенной обратной связью при формировании мышления роста в математике у учащихся начальной школы. Авторы поднимают вопрос о необходимости диверсифицировать обратную связь для мальчиков и девочек с целью нивелирования гендерных различий.
Библиографическое описание: Ершова В. С., Герасимова Ю. О., Капуза А. В. (2021) Математика не для девочек? Исследование влияния образовательных платформ на развитие мышления роста младших школьников // Вопросы образования / Educational Studies Moscow. № 3. С. 91–113. https://doi.org/10.17323/1814-9545-2021-3-91-113
BiBTeX
RIS

Новости

13 сентября 2021

XX Всероссийская научно-практическая конференция молодых исследователей образования


20 июля 2021

XII Международная Российская конференция исследователей высшего образования (ИВО) 2021


17 июня 2021

Книга Ярослава Кузьминова и Марии Юдкевич «Университеты в России: как это работает»