Hide
Раскрыть

Viktor Vakhshtayn 1, Dmitry Kurakin 1, David Konstantinovskiy 1,2
  • 1 National Research University Higher School of Economics, 20 Myasnitskaya Str., Moscow, 101000, Russian Federation
  • 2 Institute of Sociology, Russian Academy of Sciences, Bld. 5, 24/35 Krzhizhanovskogo St., Moscow, 117218, Russian Federation

Analyzing Pre-Theoretical Foundations in Sociology of Education: Explication of Basic Metaphors

2012. No. 4. P. 22–39 [issue contents]

David Konstantinovsky, D.Sc. in Sociology, Director of the Center for Sociology of Education, Science and Culture, Institute of Sociology, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russian Federation. Email: scan21@mail.ru
Address: Bld. 5, 24/35 Krzhizhanovskogo St., Moscow, 117218, Russian Federation.

Viktor Vakhshtayn, Ph.D. in Sociology, senior researcher at the Centre for Fundamental Sociology, Institute for Theoretical and Historical Studies in the Humanities, National Research University — Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russian Federation. Email: avigdor2@yahoo.com 

Dmitry Kurakin, Ph.D. in Sociology, research fellow at the Centre for Fundamental Sociology,Institute for Theoretical and Historical Studies in the Humanities, National Research University — Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russian Federation. Email: kourakine@yandex.ru 

This is an analysis of metaphorical foundations of sociological studies in education. The authors show the mechanics of descriptive languages in research with specific examples from their own empirical projects.

Assuming that theoretical foundation—conceptual definitions and research hypotheses—is based on non-theoretical, or pre-theoretical, factors, the authors demonstrate connection between scientific concepts and their pre-theoretical basis.

Using the metaphor theory to explicate axiomatic assumptions, they regard sociological studies as a series of ‘translations’ between mutually impenetrable linguistic worlds (the world of common sense, the world of sociological theory, the world of management decisions). The paper discovers transition points where research acquires or loses its strictly scientific nature. Purely scientific methods are only used for conceptualization, development of tools and data interpretation. Basic metaphors (the axiomatic level) are rather associated with intuition and imagination, field data collection has to do with the logic of common sense, while managing skills and development of recommendations belong to the sphere of management. Methodological implications of metaphorical shifts and effects of an ‘uncontrolled metaphorical expansion’ are discussed in the paper. The authors study in detail the metaphors of organism and market as applied to education.

As implicit expansion (transfer of properties from auxiliary object to main object) is the fundamental property of metaphor, the authors believe that explication of research metaphors may facilitate significantly solving the problem of ‘translation’ between different ‘realities’ of the research process. 

Citation: Vakhshtayn V., Kurakin D., Konstantinovskiy D. (2012) K analizu doteoreticheskikh osnovaniy sotsiologii obrazovaniya: eksplikatsiya bazovykh metafor [Analyzing Pre-Theoretical Foundations in Sociology of Education: Explication of Basic Metaphors ]. Voprosy obrazovaniya / Educational Studies Moscow, no4, pp. 22-39.
BiBTeX
RIS

Скрыть
Раскрыть

Вахштайн В. С. 1, Куракин Д. Ю. 1, Константиновский Д. Л. 1,2
  • 1 НИУ ВШЭ, 101000, Россия, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д.20
  • 2 Центр социологии образования, науки и культуры Института социологии РАН, Россия, 117218, Москва, ул. Кржижановского, д. 24/35, корп. 5

К анализу дотеоретических оснований социологии образования: экспликация базовых метафор

2012. № 4. С. 22–39 [содержание номера]

Константиновский Давид Львович — доктор социологических наук, руководитель Центра социологии образования, науки и культуры Института социологии РАН. Эл. адрес: scan21@mail.ru 
Адрес: Россия, 117218, Москва, ул. Кржижановского, д. 24/35, корп. 5.

Вахштайн Виктор Семенович — кандидат социологических наук, старший научный сотрудник Центра фундаментальной социологии Института гуманитарных историко-теоретических исследований НИУ ВШЭ. Эл. адрес: avigdor2@yahoo.com 

Куракин Дмитрий Юрьевич— кандидат социологических наук, научный сотрудник Центра фундаментальной социологии Института гуманитарных историко-теоретических исследований НИУ ВШЭ. Эл. адрес: kourakine@yandex.ru 

Статья посвящена анализу метафорических оснований социологических исследований образования. Авторы на конкретных примерах из собственных эмпирических проектов показывают механику работы исследовательских языков описания.

Исходя из того, что теоретический фундамент — концептуальные определения и исследовательские гипотезы — опирается на нетеоретические (или дотеоретические) предпосылки, авторы демонстрируют связь между научными понятиями и их дотеоретическими основаниями. Используя теорию метафоры в качестве инструмента экспликации аксиоматических допущений, они рассматривают социологическое исследование как серию «переводов» между взаимонепроницаемыми языковыми мирами (миром здравого смысла, миром социологической теории, миром управленческих решений). Выделены точки перехода, в которых исследование приобретает или, напротив, теряет свою строгую научность. Показано, что только шаги концептуализации, разработки инструментария и интерпретации данных совершаются по правилам научного метода. Базовые метафоры (уровень аксиом) опираются, скорее, на интуицию и воображение, процедуры сбора полевых данных — на логику здравого смысла и административные способности исполнителя, разработка рекомендаций же относится к сфере менеджмента. Обсуждаются методологические последствия метафорических смещений и эффектов «неконтролируемой экспансии метафоры». Подробно рассмотрены метафоры организма и рынка применительно к сфере образования.

Поскольку фундаментальным свойством метафоры является ее имплицитная экспансия (перенесение свойств вспомогательного субъекта на основной), экспликация исследовательских метафор, по мнению авторов, может существенно упростить решение проблемы «перевода» между различными «реальностями» исследовательского процесса.

 

BiBTeX
RIS

Новости

17 мая 2019

Презентация книги “(Не)обычные школы: разнообразие и неравенство”


12 марта 2019

В апреле открывается прием заявок на участие в конференции ИВО


15 января 2019

Вышел тематический номер журнала под редакцией Вильяма Кускина